Cliche

I was sitting at my computer, eating a Klondike bar, and of course the question “What would you do for a Klondike bar?” came to mind. I decided I really wouldn’t do much for a Klondike bar. They’re good, but they’re not really worth a whole lot of effort. In fact, doesn’t eating ice cream bring about the general idea of being lazy and enjoying yourself?

However, thinking about that question made me think about cliches. It brought up a few questions for me. Can newer things like smart phone apps be cliche? can religion be cliche? If so, what does that mean? Does it mean anything? I tend to think it doesn’t. As a Christian in a mostly non-Christian group of friends, I’ve noticed that sometimes religion, in particular Christianity can be lame and even annoying to other people at times. I’m not sure why that is, but I’ve noticed that if I don’t let it bother me, it actually seems to become less so to my friends.

I’ve noticed something else as well. When I first became a Christian I found it difficult to mix my religion with other parts of my life. After a while however, it seemed that God had and of course still has a part to play in every aspect of my life, whether directly or not.

Thinking more about cliches in general, I’ve noticed that I’m prone to them. For example, in high school I found that I was in a way, your stereotypical nerd. I wasn’t taking all the hardest classes or anything, but I was taking difficult ones, and often it happened that I would have to abandon my friends on the weekends to finish homework projects. More often than not, I would also be found studying for yet another gargantuan history test at the lunch table while my friends talked about sports or video games. And of course I was single throughout my high school career, which also seemed a part of the nerd persona to me.

The school cafeteria was in itself another cliche. The food was terrible. The only thing worth eating was the pizza, which really wasn’t very good. For two years of my life I ate bad pizza every day for lunch. In my sophomore year of high school, I actually attempted to write a satirical article about the food for my english class. It turned out to be more sarcastic than satirical, but it made me feel good.

I’m wondering if stereotypical and cliche are the same. One definition says that stereotypical means lacking originality or individuality. It also says that cliche is ordinary or obvious. They seem very similar, if not the same. I suppose as an english major, it’s probably stereotypical of me to be pondering the nature of cliche.

Well. that’s it for now. 🙂

One thought on “Cliche

Leave a Reply

