The End of The World!

I have heard hundreds of theories and predictions about the end of the world. There have been numerous movies about the subject, and the topic never seems to get old. According to some people, the world should have ended several times before now. The next end date is set for 12/21/12. I don’t believe the world is going to end at that date, but I’m hoping to throw an EPIC end of the world party anyway.

I don’t believe the end of the world can be predicted, because the Bible says we will never know when that day is coming. On top of that, the scariest and most complicated “end of the world” account I have heard/read is Revelation. If you haven’t read it, you should. Get a version of the Bible that’s written well. My version (NRSV) is very dry. The King James Version (although not as accurate a translation) is much more fun to read. It’s written with ye oldy English, so it sounds much artsier. I don’t actually own a KJV, but I’ve read passages from it.

There is debate about whether the Bible should be read literally or figuratively. I believe that everything in the Bible is true, however, I do think that parts of it must be read figuratively. For example, the book of Psalms is essentially a book of poetry. Although some poetry is meant to be read literally, I tend to think most is not. For example, when we read, “God is my fortress,” that doesn’t literally mean God is some kind of citadel or tower. That wouldn’t make any sense. Therefore, I believe that Revelation should be read figuratively, to an extent. There is much emphasis on numbers in Revelation, and I have heard one theory that the numbers represent something more significant. I don’t entirely agree with this. I think there could be some truth to it, but one has to keep in mind that with numbers come theories and equations that I’m sure people have used to try and predict the date of the end or discover the number of people who will be saved or any number of such things. I believe that only God can know these things and it’s a waste of time and energy to try and figure them out.

Anyway, the reason I was thinking about this is because I had a very strange dream last night. I’m always having strange dreams, so this wasn’t entirely out of the ordinary. It was just more complicated than most. I’ve had dreams about the end of the world before, but most of the time I’m with someone or several people that I know and the dreams aren’t nearly as complicated. Last night however, I was not one of the characters in the dream, and there were so many characters and sequences that I had trouble keeping track of it all. For some reason I remember three characters more vividly than others. One of the characters was the president of the United States. It wasn’t our current president, however. It was some old white guy. I never learned his name, but he looked like a character in a movie I recently saw. The other two characters were soldiers in the army. One was male, the other female. There were many other characters, but for some reason, I don’t remember them as well.

All the characters in the dream were in several different places and were doing different things before they eventually met up in an odd stadium. Before I woke up, one of the characters (I forget which) said “What could have brought us all together but the end of the world?” I’m fairly certain at least one of the characters was not human. In fact, I think he was some kind of lizard thing that could shape-shift into the form of a human. It may have been the most complicated dream I’ve ever had. I wish I could remember more if it, because it would be fun to write a story about it.

I don’t worry about the end of the world, because I don’t know when it’s coming, and there’s nothing I can do about it. I think about it sometimes, though, and when I do, it kind of scares the crap out of me. Part of the reason for this is because I know the end of the world is the final judgement. I try to be the best person I can be, but I know I’m a sinner and I know I have faults that I still need to work on. I know no one is perfect in the eyes of God, but I’m a bit of a perfectionist, and it kind of freaks me out that no matter how hard I try I can’t be perfect. I know God is forgiving, but what if the world ends before I’m done? For some reason, ever since I’ve become a Christian, I’ve always thought that there’s some kind of “destination” that I’m trying to get to. I know God has a plan for me, and I think that plan has some kind of end point that I’m trying to get to. I don’t really even know why I think that. It’s just always sort of been at the back of my mind for a long time.

Something I try to keep in mind when I have doubts is a dream I had a few months ago. Unlike most of my dreams, it was very simple. It was dark, and all I could see was the silhouette of a man as he spoke to me. I don’t remember a whole lot of what he said, but I remember two things. Just the night before (or maybe 2 nights), I had read a passage with my Bible study group where Jesus convinces Peter, James and John to follow Him. He says to them “Do not be afraid,” and they follow Him. In my dream, the man said “Do not be afraid. Follow me.” He also said something about being a bridge, which I didn’t entirely remember when I woke up. At first I thought he had said to use him as a bridge, but that didn’t make much sense to me. After some thinking, I realized that maybe he had said to be a bridge. This made a lot more sense to me, because very few of my friends are Christian, and I thought this meant that I should try to get them to know the Lord. I still haven’t really figured out how to do that, but I’m working on it. I really do believe that this dream was a calling from God. It was so different than most of my dreams, and it was so similar to what I had read the night before, that I didn’t think (and still don’t think) it could have been anything else.

The ironic thing is that I haven’t told anyone I know personally about this dream. This is partly because I don’t know how to bring it up, and partly because I don’t want people to question it. I think I should tell my friend about it, though because I think she would believe me. It just seemed so personal.

Well anyway… guinea pigs rock!

Leave a Reply

