New Ideas On The Radar

I’ve never really paid too much attention to statistics. I don’t like math in the fist place, and I’m a bit competitive, so when I see that the odds are against me for whatever reason, I decide to pick a fight with them.

I was doing some homework a couple days ago—or at least I was supposed to be doing homework, and I decided to look up the percentage of pastors who are women in various churches. I was actually surprised to find that a few different sites said only 10%. The reason I looked this up was because I’ve been trying to figure out what in the world I would like to do with my life.

I’m currently majoring in English at a Christian school, and quite honestly, I don’t entirely know what I want to do with it. I started working on a business idea with a couple cousins this past summer, that had to do with music and writing, and it seemed like a good idea, but college got in the way and we lost momentum. Now thinking about it, it seems the idea has lost a bit of appeal. Hopefully this winter we’ll pick up some momentum again over break, but we have a bit of a road block to overcome in the meantime. I may know how to fix the problem, but I don’t currently have time to experiment too much.

A few weeks ago my mother mentioned that one of her friends had said that she honestly thought I should be a pastor. At the time I laughed and dismissed the idea, but thinking about it, it might actually be a fitting role for me. I love people, I love being “on stage” so to speak, and I sincerely want to spread God’s message of love and redemption. In a way, I already have a little experience doing this. I write my own worship music, and I perform it at open mics. People generally like my stuff, and I’d like to think I’m at least subtly getting the message across.

Another reason I think I might want to do this is because of my friends. I have many friends who haven’t been saved, and I don’t entirely know how to sort of “get the point across” to them. For whatever reason I feel like it’s sort of my “job” to help them to get to know the Lord. I’m a bit afraid of doing it obnoxiously, though, so I’ve been trying to “lead by example,” if you will. Over the past couple years, my faith has grown exponentially (granted it was only really born a couple years ago), but I’m not sure that my friends see it. I guess I try to be subtle about it. I don’t want it to be this whole other “thing.” It’s just part of who I am.

The interesting thing is that I hadn’t even considered pastoring as an option until the other night. It hadn’t even been anywhere on my radar, but the more I think about it, the more appealing it seems. I’m still not entirely sure what to think, because the idea is a bit intimidating, but I also like it a fair amount more than any of my other career ideas so far. It may go nowhere, but we’ll see. I wouldn’t be entirely surprised if this is what I end up doing.

Leave a Reply

