I Will Follow You Into The Dark

I love the chorus of this song.

If Heaven and Hell decide that they both are satisfied
Illuminate the “No’s” on their vacancy signs
If there’s no one beside you when your soul embarks
I’ll follow you into the dark

I find it both sad and beautiful at the same time. It’s a vision of death that actually kind of scares me. It presents the idea of there being no life after death, which I really don’t like! In a sense though, nothingness is less scary than the idea of Heaven and Hell. If you believe you’re going to Heaven, then you also have to believe that there’s a chance (however small it may be) that you or someone you love is going to Hell. This is thinking strictly logically and disregarding faith, but it’s “logically” true.

This song presents the idea of nothing after death in a way that really is not very scary, especially since it brings love into the equation. It gives one the hope that at least love lives on after death. I find that in itself to be a beautiful idea. It’s also exceedingly less complicated than the idea of Heaven and Hell. I think it’s the simplicity that I kind of find appealing.

Even so, I like the idea of eternal paradise a whole lot better. 🙂

One thought on “I Will Follow You Into The Dark

Leave a Reply

