Poetic Newbery

Well you guys (whoever the heck “you” are) just a few hours ago I plucked up enough courage to submit a poem to a Christian literary magazine called “Relief.” I had never heard of it before, but I just did a Google search of literary magazines that accept submissions from “newbs,” and this one came up. So I gave them my name and contact information and submitted the thing, but I may have done something very “newb-ish.” They wanted a “cover letter” to go with the submission. They provided a little text box that I was supposed to write the thing in; the trouble is that I don’t even know what a cover letter is. I wrote in the text box something to the effect of, “This is my first time submitting anything to a literary magazine. To be honest, I don’t even know what a cover letter is. I am Christian and I have a passion for writing, and this was the first place I thought I’d try to get published. Thank you for your consideration.”

Ok, so that’s all well and good, except I have a feeling that with a “cover letter” like that they’re not going to consider my poem. I guess I’ll find out soon what the verdict is. I didn’t have to pay any money to submit the thing, so all that can happen is I get rejected. It was really just a shot in the dark. If I get rejected I’ll look into what in the world a cover letter is and try again. I might try something other than poetry as well. They said on their website that they accept poetry, but it seemed that they were sort of geared more towards short stories and articles. Poetry is just sort of my fall-back.

I would publish the poem here because I actually thought I did a pretty good job with it, but I’m not sure I should do that if I do happen to get published. I just kind of feel like there’s some kind of rule against that. Once I know if my newbery cost me a publication I’ll let “you” all know and if it did, I’ll post the poem.

Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

