Being Helpful

Being helpful is one of the most rewarding things in the world. It doesn’t matter what you do to be helpful; big or small, when someone thanks you and tells you you’re helpful, it feels so good! I’m a little bit of a workaholic, but I can honestly say that most of the time I’d rather be helpful than productive, if I had to choose.

I read a post in October by a blogger who calls himself Marcel. It was his first post and he said that he wasn’t expecting anyone to read for a very long time. Well, I’m sometimes an overly friendly, sentimental nuisance, so I left him a comment to say “hi” and give a little advice. He thanked me and said he hoped I’d keep reading. So I’ve been reading and commenting on some of his posts, but I realized that sometimes trying to be helpful can be kind of annoying to people. I asked him if I was in fact being annoying, and he said that I wasn’t and that he appreciated me reading and commenting. Not only that, but he said my comments were helpful!

When that’s exactly what you’re hoping to hear and you’re easily excitable (I’m so easily excitable), it can kind of make your day.

Throughout high school, I wanted to “save the world.” I’m sure there are many 14 year old girls who think they can do that, but it’s ridiculous, nonetheless. Of course I’ve learned about all kinds of different organizations that seek to help people overseas and in third world countries, but I also think that saving the world can start at home. I like the idea of the movie “Pay It Forward.” If you’re nice/helpful to someone, they’ll be be nice/helpful to someone else. If you’re nice/helpful to a few people, it will grow exponentially.

Lately, since I’m almost halfway done with my sophomore year of college, I’ve been thinking about what I want or could be doing with my life.More importantly however, I’ve been trying to figure out where I “fit in” to God’s plan. I figure if I can understand that, it will help me to decide what I should do as a career. Because of things that have been going on lately, I’m starting to think that it has something to do with “doing big things in a small way.” I think of it sort of as a movie. There’s the actors on camera, and then there’s the “tech” crew behind the scenes helping with costumes, special effects, script, props and everything else that goes into a good movie.

This blog is actually an attempt at “doing big things in a small way.” I’m hoping that what I write is helpful to whomever reads it and that maybe it will make people think if not do something to make the world a better place. Maybe it’s wishful thinking, but nobody said I couldn’t dream, and this is my internet bubble!

Leave a Reply

