Open And Honest With Perfect Strangers

In my time of being on various discussion forums and of blogging, I’ve noticed something that is actually quite concerning. It seems that people in general (myself included) are much more open and honest about just about anything through the medium of the internet. Many people feel much more comfortable talking about their dirty secrets, how they feel about things, what’s troubling them, etc, and by the same token, I think people are much more likely to give advice and “say what needs to be said.”

This of course brings up the question, “why?”

I know anonymity must be a huge part of it; it’s easier to say things from behind a user name and across cyber space. I just don’t quite understand why It’s easier to talk to people who might as well not exist rather than people we know and love. For example, I’ve mentioned on this blog that I had a “religious experience” through a dream that has really helped to shape who I am this past year or so, and yet the only person whom I personally know who knows about it is my cousin who I’m not actually that close to and who is almost an atheist. I could have told my best friend who I actually do tell almost everything to, and I could have to told my friend/mentor/teacher who likewise, knows a lot of my “dirty little secrets.”

I think the fact that we’re never actually going to meet the people we talk to on the internet plays a part in this as well. Many of the things people talk about are just embarrassing. I suppose It’s sort of like throwing something out there and not having to look at where we throw it. Perhaps having to interact with the person who knows your secrets can feel like having to interact with a manifestation of them in a way. Perhaps seeing that person is just a reminder that you have these thoughts, feelings, secrets, etc.

Perhaps it isn’t all bad that we do talk about these kinds of things on the internet. After all, humans are all fallen, and we are meant to confess our sins to God and to each other, so if the internet makes that easier, maybe It’s a good thing. I still can’t help feeling that It’s kind of like taking the easy way out. Perhaps what needs to happen is that if people insist on discussing these things on the internet, then they should make themselves a little less public. What I mean by this is that maybe people should try to make stronger connections with a select few whom they will share things with. I think people need to try to make genuine friendships and I think it can be done. I think there will still be a sense of anonymity, but also a sense of intimacy that will make talking about serious matters less stressful and more meaningful. I also sincerely think that people really need to just try and be more open and honest with the friends and family they already know and love.

Leave a Reply

