2013 Scatterbrained Update

I wrote a post about a month ago explaining my plans for the semester and the rest of the year, so I though I’d do an update.

School is good. Music is not at all what I expected, but I still like it. It’s very much history and philosophy based. I was a bit worried about Romanticism, but so far I’m liking it (although Emerson kind of pisses me off). The things we read in American Lit are pretty cool, but I don’t really like the prof. He basically told us that his interpretation is the right one and if we disagree, we’re wrong. I just got my first essay back from Creative Writing and I did really well. The final version is due later today.

My teacher gave me the “ok” to start working on a lesson plan for a songwriting class. We’re going to run it for a week and see how it goes once I finish it (hopefully this week). I will get paid, and if it goes well we will probably do more of a once a week thing. He ran an idea by me that I at least think is a good one; he’s going to sell membership cards so that you get free admission to events with the card and you have to just pay cash without one. That way he could run more and better events.

Unfortunately my novel has pretty much taken a back seat for a few reasons, the big ones being time constraint and other projects. School and music are once again the only things I really have time for. I’m also realizing that I may not have the attention span or the creative power to do the whole fantasy thing. I really enjoy writing shorter pieces (anywhere from 3 to 20 pages depending on what I’m writing), and of course I love blogging. I am working on a few things that I would like to try to get published in a journal or something.

My CD is about half way done. We just have to mix my 5th song and then I’ll put it up on Soundcloud. I’m auditioning to play one of the coffee houses my school has throughout the semester. I’m hoping I get in one of the later ones and that they might let me sell copies of my CD. I would probably have to give some of the proceeds to the school or something, but I’m cool with that. I know they let people sell CDs at one of the places I do open mics, so hopefully I’ll have it finished by spring break. Otherwise I will probably have to wait until May to do an open mic. At this point I’m willing to just work like a psycho to get it done. Some of the songs I have left to do should go quick because I’m thinking they should be simpler.

I seriously go back and forth on whether I want to do music or writing for a living even though I think writing is probably more lucrative. Music is just so ridiculously fun any way you slice it.

I do have another idea about how to make a little money by blogging. This blog is of course very personal and random, but I’m thinking about doing a different blog about hats and possibly style/fashion in general. Weirdly enough, I think that would be fun.

Well I actually do have a deadline to meet, so I have to get to work.

2 thoughts on “2013 Scatterbrained Update

  1. I have to comment on your literature professor and his “my way is the right way” attitude. Sadly, that is all too common, but I was able to make it work for me when I was in college: I did my best to regurgitate the material I was given to get the grade, and later, when I was out in the working world, I realized what great training that was for producing material my supervisor wanted “just this way” (read: in my words or in my tone). You’ll be glad you mastered the task if you ever have a writing job where you have to imitate someone else’s voice, which ghostwriters and editors do all the time.

    Enjoy the heck out of your Creative Writing class!

Leave a Reply

