Worship

There is no one way to worship God. Sometimes different forms of worship are appropriate or inappropriate, depending on the circumstances. It is very dangerous to allow worship to become routine. We can profess the faith in church every week and be thinking about lunch while we recite empty words. This is not to say that a mellow church service is a bad way to worship, but we have to be careful. Mellow all the time can get dull, and the last thing we want is for our faith to get dull.

God is complex, so it only makes sense that we should worship Him in many different ways. It can be very easy to put God into a box and only take Him out when we feel like it. We are meant to worship God in everything we do. In my opinion, church is like school. We go there partly to worship, but I think mostly to learn about God’s Word. Contemporary worship music makes me feel much more “in the zone,” so I think that playing a few worship songs on the guitar and praying is a simpler and stronger form of worship. Of course this probably sounds absurd to some people, and I recognize that. It is not how we worship but who we worship that matters.

I have struggled with the idea that we are meant to worship God in everything we do. I’m not entirely sure what that means. I may still be a little confused about what the word “worship” actually means; or maybe I’m just thinking too hard. I really don’t know how reading Edgar Alan Poe for school could possibly be glorifying God, but perhaps I take it too literally. God has given me the gifts of music and words and I want to do something with these gifts that will be glorifying to Him. It is the waiting that frustrates me. How are the small, seemingly mundane things I do every day acts of worship? I still haven’t figured that out.

I wish I did have all the answers, because I want to be helpful, but I don’t. I think that we should just keep in mind that God has a plan for this world and try to make our every day shenanigans “work” with Hid plan. We also have to keep in mind that His agenda is much more important than our own. I don’t mean to sound like I know more than anyone else on this stuff. I just figured I’d throw out what I think and what I know.

Leave a Reply

