Help! I Need Somebody! Not Just Anybody!

A few days ago I took my 3rd and last test in my American Lit class. Quite frankly, his tests are impossible, and I’m not the only one who thinks so. I’m not doing well in that class and it’s been getting me pretty bummed out. At one point I was trying to listen to a worship song to try and get hyped up– or something– I don’t really know how to explain it, and I felt no connection to the lyrics at all, which got me even more bummed out. Then on the day of the test I got “Help” by the Beatles stuck in my head so I just started singing it, and it felt like a prayer. I hadn’t listened to that song in a very long time, possibly years, but singing it felt like the most sincere thing I’d done in a while.

Help me if you can I’m feeling down
And I do appreciate you being ’round
Help me get my feet back on the ground
Won’t you pleas, please help me!

Someone in my MIW class said that the trouble with using secular music in worship is that you think about the artist more than the setting and the lyrics, but why wouldn’t you do that with a Christian band? I like Tenth Avenue North because they’re good musicians and I like their musical style. It’s impossible to separate that stuff entirely from worship, and I don’t think you should. When I was singing “Help,” I wasn’t thinking about how much I love the Beatles (because I love them lots), I was thinking that at this rate it’s going to take a miracle for me to pass this class, and if I don’t do well on this test I’m going to have to get A’s on the next few essays and projects. I know God has been holding my hand through the past four semesters (there’s always been one class that gives me trouble– Grr), and for that reason I’ve survived thus far.

Because in my world guinea pigs can fly!

Leave a Reply

