Fun And Fixing Things

I wonder what God’s version of fun looks like. Does God have fun? I guess he must because he makes artists and musicians and crazy people and lets them loose to make people laugh and make love happen. Still, God has a pretty stressful job. He knows everything about everyone, ever. He knows exactly when a baby is going to die or when friends are going to see each other for the last time. He even knows every nasty thought that goes through every head. To me that sounds awfully depressing.

I ask God why he doesn’t fix things a lot. It’s probably really annoying at this point. I really hope that God has fun. Genesis says that God created the universe and saw that it was good. He was pleased with this crazy, complicated insanity he made. Maybe it’s similar to how I feel when I write a new song or a particularly interesting blog post. Someone once said that he asked God why he doesn’t do something about all the problems in the world and God said, “I did do something. I created you.” I do want to fix things, so I suppose the same response applies to me as well.

I really just want people to love each other. I want people to look at each other and say, “I love you because you are a human. God created you and me the same. We’re both special and we’re both just like everyone else.” The trouble is that I don’t know how to make that happen. I don’t know how to reach more people with the limited resources I currently have. All I know to do is write blog posts and write songs and hope and pray that I can get my message out there.

I need to be more proactive, though. I haven’t been looking too hard for opportunities to perform lately, partly because I currently hate my bedroom. I basically lived in there for over a month while I was finishing up school and I want to be anywhere but there, which means I haven’t been using my computer much at all in the past few days. I’m getting a bit off topic, so I’ll end here, but I want to end on a promise. I promise that in the next week I will find 3 new open mic venues and attempt to get 3 gigs.

Wish me luck. Prayers are appreciated.

Thanks!

Leave a Reply

