Gremlins (not the movie)!

This is sort of terrible, but I needed to vent. I apologize in advance.

I have these two cousins; we’ll call them Thing 1 and Thing 2, who are 7 and 5. The 5 year old is actually pretty mellow– unless she’s with her brother. Thing 1 on the other hand is an insufferable little boy. He doesn’t follow rules, he lies and he asks too many stupid and annoying questions. We made the horrible mistake of letting him onto our Minecraft server where he proceeded to blow up my portal, thus stranding me in the middle of nowhere for 4 Minecraft days. I know I shouldn’t get all testy about something like that, but he’s just been so annoying the past couple days. I kicked him out of the pool last night for not listening and picking on his sister. It was kind of gratifying. I know I’m supposed to be nice to him because he’s my cousin, but it’s getting harder and harder.

I’m used to doing things at a relatively laid back pace. I like peace and quiet and I’m mostly interested in mature, intellectual things. I think a lot of kids’ TV shows, stories and movies are pointless and idiotic and I don’t have a whole ton of patience for children in general. They wanted to watch me play Journey last night, which happens to be my favorite video game for the art, animation, open ended story and amazing music. I agreed because I thought it would keep them quiet. It turns out nothing can shut these kids up. I owe my sanity to my mom and brother because they ended up taking the gremlins to Pet Co while I played. I ended up playing with a very entertaining person too.

We watched Monsters Inc last night, which I’ll admit is one of the better kids’ movies I’ve seen. After that, Thing 1 asked me what time I was going to get up the next morning “8 or 9?” I told him 10:30 and slept until 11:30 or so. I could never be a mother. Maybe it’s selfishness, but I just can’t cater to the wants and needs of bratty kids. I have a couple other cousins who are 11 and 13. There isn’t as much of an age difference, but I don’t remember either of them being bratty when they were 7 or 5. In fact, they’re both mature for their age, caring and best of all, quiet. We’re even interested in a lot of the same things.

I have some work to do this afternoon and the rest of the week, so hopefully the little monsters will stay out of my room, though i kind of doubt it. If I’m not already crazy, I will be by the time they leave on Wednesday.

Anyway, sorry for the rant. Love y’all! 🙂

Leave a Reply

