A Part Of The Show

My brain just did a 360.  For weeks now I’ve been trying to figure out how to get gigs. It’s been such a painful search that I just sort of gave up (not completely, but I’ve mostly been playing open mics). I think life will be easier once my album is finished, so I’ve decided to mainly focus on that. I’ve also been trying to figure out how to make God part of the show. I believe that God inspired and continues to inspire my music and I want to make that clear to the audience. I just couldn’t figure out how to do that without being annoying.

When I started my gig search I decided that I wouldn’t play churches because my music wouldn’t exactly fit. I think it’s Christian music, but it’s not worship music in the way people normally think of worship music. I never come out and explicitly say “Look how awesome God is” in any of my songs.

Of course that sneaky little voice in my head piped up a few minutes ago and said, “if you talk about what inspired the songs before you played them or something it would probably be perfectly acceptable to play in a church. That and if you want God to be part of the show, that should be more important to you than what the audience thinks.”

*sigh* Yeah, I know. 🙂

The only thing I don’t like about this plan is that I partly wrote music that isn’t explicitly Christian so that i could try and reach people who wouldn’t listen to explicitly Christian music. I’ll admit it’s a little bit of a sneaky evangelism thing that probably doesn’t even work. I think in order to get anywhere I sort of have to separate my faith and my music a little bit, which I sort of didn’t want to do. I do want to gain fans, and that means playing for everyone. Plus if I play churches I can practice making God a part of a show so that it doesn’t feel weird when I play for the general public.

My job now is to find churches that like contemporary worship music. I’m hopefully getting back to the studio tomorrow, so I can talk to Ken about it. I know his church uses contemporary music in their Sunday service, so that might be a good place to start. In the mean time I’ll be spending lots of time with Google.

Because in my world guinea pigs can fly!

Leave a Reply

