After Deep Breathing: So Mellow

I was looking into meditation because I’ve heard that it helps with spiritual growth and mostly what I found was that it starts with deep breathing. I watched a few YouTube videos, and a lot of them talked about things that are currently over my head. I decided to just give it a rest and start with what I knew, so I got myself comfortable, turned the lights off, closed my eyes and just did some breathing exercises.

A lot of what I heard and read said that you were supposed to let your thoughts come, but let them pass; be an observer instead of a participant. I think that was what I was doing, but we’ll see what happens when I actually have difficult stuff on my mind.

The results were absolutely AMAZING. I didn’t want to stop, but I couldn’t keep doing it forever. I’ll probably try again before I go to bed. I felt completely relaxed after I did it. Everything felt loose and I felt mellowed out; not sleepy, but very calm.

I decided to look into this because I’m trying to figure out what the next step is in terms of what I’m going to do with my life and in terms of my spiritual life. I wanted a way in which I could potentially come closer to God, and I think meditation is probably a good place to start.

Other than that I don’t really have anything too exciting to report at the moment. If anyone has any advice/pointers on meditation I’d love comments. At the moment I’m not really even sure what form to use. Ideally I would like to use a form that helps with prayer or can be adapted to do so.

Because in my world guinea pigs can fly

Leave a Reply

