2013 Camping Recap

All the tents are coming down and supplies are going back into buckets. It’s only a matter of time before we have to get in the car and head back to Massachusetts. As we predicted, my aunt on my dad’s side, one of my cousins on my mom’s side and I were the only ones who wanted to stay longer. Camping is the best… as long as it’s not raining, and we had a VERY sunny week.

I did almost everything on my camping to do list. We had a boys vs girls Capture The Flag game and to my utter most shame, the boys won. It wouldn’t have been as big a deal except most of them were 10 years younger than us, which meant they were around 6-10 years old.

The talent show went way better this year. The audience was bigger and a few more people were willing to participate. Both of my Godparents did something, which was cool. I distinctly saw a guy with a guitar hiding in the back and I tried to coerce him into playing something, but he chickened out. I need to figure out a way to get more musicians interested in it next year. A lot of people complimented me and said I did a great job hosting it, which was super nice since I’m not exactly used to doing that kind of thing.

Yesterday I swam a mile with my mom, my brother and a bunch of cousins. My dad played floating life guard from his green canoe, which mostly amounted to antagonizing swimmers. The waves weren’t so bad on the way to 3rd Beach, but they were awful on the way back to camp. I’m not the best swimmer, and I was pooped by the time I got back. There were a lot of boats out, and on top of that, it was windy. I ended up going to bed around 8:30, and I matched my sleeping record; 15 hours after finals week last semester. I sleep great at camp anyway.

Some things that I hadn’t anticipated happened as well. I got to hang out with a very cool cousin on my mom’s side who I had previously only known through Facebook. He had a very interesting take on spirituality and he was very fun to talk to. I also did quite a bit of guitar playing and did a little promoting. Today I got to be part of a jam circle which consisted of 4 guitars and a banjo, which turned out to be very fun. We actually jammed on one of my original songs.

I’m doing 1 or 2 open mics next week and I’ll hopefully get a recording session in before summer officially comes to a close for me. I have a week and a day before I’m back to the grind. I’m not looking forward to school as much as I usually do at the end of the summer. I guess I’m just sad that camping is over. It was exceptionally good this year.

Because in my world guinea pigs can fly!

Leave a Reply

