Music Inspired Love Poem

I had to write a Cento for my Poetry class. In case you don’t know, a Cento is a poem writen entirely with names or titles. Since I love music I decided to use song titles. This is what I came up with…

Love Song
Little light, I will follow you into the dark.
Knocking on heaven’s door; we can work it out.
In the summer’s when you really know
We are nowhere and it’s now.
At the bottom of everything, across the universe,
Behind blue eyes you are digging for your dreams.
Days of wonder on and on; I’m slowly turning into you.
Marry me; let it be time; be my escape.

Breathe in the air after the storm.
Up again, amongst the waves;
It’s the end of the world as we know it,
And I feel fine.
Long before freedom; resolution; a smile like yours…
Eclipse everywhere the ghosts of me and you.
Imagine the soundtrack of my life.
By your side for the first time again;
Wonderful road of trials,
Perfecting loneliness…
You’re the one I want.

Here are the actual song titles I used…

Little Light: Jets To Brazil
I Will Follow You into the Dark: Death Cab For Cutie
Knocking on Heaven’s Door: Bob Dylan
We Can Work It Out: The Beatles
In The Summer’s When You Really Know: Jets To Brazil
We Are Nowhere And It’s Now: Bright Eyes
At The Bottom of Everything: Bright Eyes
Across the Universe: The Beatles
Behind Blue Eyes: The Who
You Are: Tenth Avenue North
Digging For Your Dreams: The Indigo Girls
Days of Wonder: The Wallflowers
On and On: Tenth Avenue North
I’m Slowly Turning Into You: The White Stripes
Marry Me: Train
Let It Be: The Beatles
Time: Pink Floyd
Be My Escape: Reliant K
Breathe In The Air: Pink Floyd
After The Storm: Pink Floyd
Up Again: Meet The Day
Amongst The Waves: Pearl Jam
It’s The End of the World As We Know It And I Feel Fine: R.E.M
Long Before: Lucy Wainwright Roche
Freedom: Melissa Ferrick
Resolution: Andy Timons
A Smile Like Yours: Meet The Day
Eclipse: Pink Floyd
Everywhere: Lucy Wainwright Roche
The Ghosts of Me and You: Less Than Jake
Imagine: John Lennon
The Soundtrack Of My Life: Less Than Jake
By Your Side: Tenth Avenue North
For The First Time Again: Jason Gray
Wonderful: Everclear
Road of Trials: Austin Wintory (Journey Soundtrack)
Perfecting Loneliness: Jets To Brazil
You’re The One I Want: Jets To Brazil

Like I said, every part of this poem was from a song title. I wasn’t allowed to add little words like “and” or “because.” Those words had to be included in a title. It was fairly difficult and took me a while, but I’m actually happy with the result. I’d love to know what you guys think.

Because in my world guinea pigs can fly!

Leave a Reply

