Gender Roles

I just read a post a out this and thought it was interesting. The main point of it was that people put too much emphasis on being masculine or feminine and doing masculine/feminine things. The author also talked about the “Man Card” concept, which I hadn’t even heard of before.

An important point that the author was making was that concepts of masculine/feminine allow men to treat women like objects, but removing these concepts makes the two genders more equal. He listed a bunch of things that he was into/does/knows about that for someone who has ideas of girly and manly were surprising.

Interestingly, when I was a kid, it seemed that girls really weren’t into video games. I’ve noticed in the past few years however, possibly because I’m simply more observant, that a lot more girls and women (including myself) play them regularly and enjoy them. On the flip side, there are a lot of teenaged boys who watch and enjoy My Little Pony. Furthermore, there have been a lot more men deciding to stay home with the kids while their wives go off to work, essentially switching the traditional gender roles. I am interested to see what will happen when gender differences disappear entirely, which I think eventually they will. Perhaps it won’t change much at all.

What the author of the post I read disregarded was that there do seem to be certain things that men like/do/enjoy/are better at more/than women and vice versa. Again, maybe I’m saying this because I grew up on the very end of gender roles being a defined thing.

Because in my world guinea pigs can fly!

Leave a Reply

