My Food Problem

I’ve recently become vegetarian after watching a documentary called Earthlings. It’s about how animals are raised, treated and killed on industrial farms. I’ve been a vegetarian for a few weeks now, but I’ve been noticing some things that I’m guessing aren’t so good about it. The first is that instead of meat I’m eating a lot of carbs. I’m not sure of the exact effects this will have, but I suspect it won’t be good long term, especially since I don’t get a lot of exercise. Secondly I’ve noticed that I’ve been more hungry and more tired lately, and I’m wondering if it’s because I’m not getting enough protein. I have been eating eggs maybe once or twice a week, but I used to eat chicken a lot more than that.

The reason I’m writing about this is because I’m having some questions. I stopped eating meat on moral principle; animals have as much right to live comfortable, natural, happy lives as humans, so I believe that eating animals from industrial farms is immoral. My brother argued however that I’m literally not doing anything by not eating chicken. One person isn’t going to change the way animals are treated. That’s not the point, though. The point is that if everyone stopped eating meat then animals wouldn’t have to suffer.

My dilemma is that in the long run I might not be doing anything, and I’m hungry. I’m also worried that in trying to prove a point I’m compromising my health. Maybe that shouldn’t be that big a consideration; people who feel strongly about a cause comprise their safety and health all the time for that purpose. The thing is that even if I’m not making a difference, I’m not sure I could go back to eating meat with an entirely clear conscience, even though chicken was (and I guess still is) my favorite food and I want to eat it.

I would really appreciate some guidance on this issue.

Because in my world guinea pigs can fly!

One thought on “My Food Problem

Leave a Reply

