The Magnificent Court Of Dreams And Sleep

I don’t use an alarm clock. I need help getting out of bed and into my wheelchair, so my parents are essentially my alarm clock. This is the reason I invented the Magnificent Court of Dreams and Sleep. There are many members of this court, and I shall name them for the entertainment of my readers.

Firstly, there are the Guardians of the Chamber. These are two tall, slender figures, clad in sleek, gold armor. They each are armed with long, slender swords. There is also a guardian known as the Sleep Watcher who is armed with a bow who stands slightly farther down the hall from my bedroom. These guardians are meant to keep the enemy of sleep (parents) from entering the room.

Secondly, there is an old man stationed right outside my closet. He is fairly unremarkable, except for a small, clock which hangs around his neck on a golden chain. This is the Time Keeper. His duty is to stop time when necessary so I can sleep as long as I want.

Thirdly, there are two small, winged spirits stationed over my bed. They are twins known as the Day Weaver and Night Weaver. These two young spirits are responsible for giving me daydreams and night dreams.

Lastly, there is the Commander of the Army of Sleep. Her purpose is to drive out the insane thoughts I have late at night when I can’t sleep. Her army is comprised of strange little spirits capable of entering my mind and fighting insomnia.

I came up with this whole idea basically by accident. I don’t know how long I had been envisioning some of these characters before I actually realized it. Admittedly, a few of them were not spontaneous, but the guards outside my room have been around for years; probably since high school. I really like to sleep.

Because in my world guinea pigs can fly!

Leave a Reply

