Fight Fire With Crazy, Fight Fire With Love

I had a discussion with my friend last night: the one who I have philosophical debates with, and as we occasionally do, we ended up talking about people who ruin everything. Just to set things straight, my friend is of the opinion that the general populous tends to be awful and occasionally does nice things, whereas I feel that the general populous tends to be fairly nice overall and occasionally does awful things. On an individual level, I do feel that most people have some good in them.

We also ended up talking about what we feel is the best way to counter people who do terrible things. Since they piss both of us off to an extreme degree, we used the Westboro Baptist Church as an example. My friend’s thought is that when it comes to people like that, it’s best to fight fire with CRAZY. Her idea, and this is admittedly hilarious, is that when it comes to people like that, the best thing to do is “join” them and then outcrazy them by holding up signs that say things like “Repent! The Banana Army Wants Your Toothbrush!”

On the other hand, I think a better way to deal with people like that is to drown them out. My high school did a production of the Laramie Project, and five of those nasty people came to protest it. I distinctly remember them having a sign that says “You eat your babies.” Don’t even get me started on how stupid and nonsensical that is. A place was designated on the other side of the road for a counter protest. There were about 50 of us, and we had a guitar.

This is the whole point of my musical endeavors. I just want to drown the haters out. You can’t beat ’em; that would only perpetuate the hate, and you certainly can’t join ’em, so the only thing to do is to make love bigger and stronger and louder than them. My friend’s idea does prove a point, but it still ends up pitting people against each other in the end. Our talk last night got me all fired up, and now I want to do something, but I don’t know what that is yet. For now I’m going to keep working on making the music thing work.

When I was a freshman in high school I had this crazy idea in my head that I could save the world, and while I know now that it isn’t going to happen, I can do nice things, and at least make people listen.

Because in my world guinea pigs can fly!

Leave a Reply

