World Peace Is Unreasonable

You know what I’ve noticed lately? There are no positive or happy posts in Freshly Pressed. There is nothing positive in the nightly news. People are quick to find the negative in everything. People are afraid. People are depressed. People are worried. I see the U.S. turning into a nation of pessimists, and it’s not good. If people continue to focus only on what’s wrong with the world and with each other, then we’ll all become broken and isolated, and families, communities, and eventually the nation will fall apart.

I know I’m irrational at times. I believe in people, often to the point of absurdity, but I see so much potential and beauty in everyone. I’m not exaggerating. I know that everyone is special and loved by God. I can almost feel it. I believe that love is so powerful, and I think that people need to be more willing to love outwardly, and even obnoxiously. Yes, bad things happen, but we can always rebuild and change and be made stronger. We can let the world bring us down, or we can refuse to let that happen and bring the world up with us.

I once told a friend of mine that I have to love everything or I’ll go crazy. I used to believe in war, because I used to believe that revenge made things right. However, you can’t believe in war and love people. Maybe it’s unreasonable, but I refuse to define anyone or any group of people as my enemy. The strong should defend the weak when it’s necessary, but fighting over anything else is immoral. I felt that it was a personal offense when I found out that ISIS was killing Christians, and I do feel like that organization should be destroyed, but a part of me feels bad that we have to kill these people. They should not be hated, because they are haters, and it is hate that causes all the world’s problems. They are so wrong about God and the world, and they should be pitied because of this. Somehow they have become so corrupted and evil that they will collectively kill people for their own power and satisfaction. At least mentally, they have lost their humanity.

This may sound unreasonable and possibly offensive to some of you, and I apologize if it does. Hate is so much louder than love, but I believe that love is so much more powerful. I believe that if the world unites and gets loud enough, hate will die. However, we need to teach people to focus on the positive and to see the good in others. We need to write about happy things and be friendly and helpful to strangers. We need to stick together and show support for each other, and we need to teach the next generation to do the same. Technology is quickly making the world more and more connected, and I really do believe that world peace is possible if people will just make an effort to bring it about.

Because in my world guinea pigs can fly!

Leave a Reply

