How May I Serve You?

I’ve noticed a trend happening lately. I don’t know exactly when it started, but for a while now, I’ve been much more willing to mention God and talk about spiritual issues in my posts. People have been interested in my blog from the start, and I’ve never been wanting for followers. That’s gratifying, and I appreciate it. However, I’ve recently noticed that the audience of my blog has narrowed quite a bit. I haven’t lost any followers, but when I gain new ones or even just have people pass by, the overwhelming majority of them tend to be Christians; many stronger and wiser than I am.

In some sense, this is a good thing. I’ve found my niche, and that tends to be something writers strive for. In fact, when I started my blog, I was hoping to find my niche. It took a lot of trial and error, but I got here. Now that I am here, though, I’m not so sure I want it.

I want to be interesting to people who don’t think like me and don’t believe what I do. I want to make Christianity interesting to people who aren’t Christians. I want to move beyond religion and connect with people on a universal, human level.

I realize that as I grow in faith I get a little farther away from some people. Some people strongly disagree with Christianity and religion in general, in part because of our history, and in part because of some of the things the Church continues to do. Some people think we’re all just crazy. I get that. If you had asked me in high school what I thought of Christianity, I would have said it’s old fashioned and ridiculous. In brief, my thoughts on it now are that if one is cruel to others or does anything out of spite or hate, then one is not Christian. They are only using that label. However, that is a topic for another post.

It isn’t fear or allegiance to a certain church or even tradition that drives me. What drives me is the innate knowledge of my salvation, and the overwhelming desire to make music. Those two things do make me want to try and bring people to Jesus. However, I know from experience that spiritual issues need to be between individuals and God. I’m here to help if people want it, but otherwise I’m just here to make noise and lead by example if I can.

I am interested in worldly things. I’m invested in making noise for peace. I care about those who are less fortunate than I am. I want to know more about the Earth and the people and creatures that inhabit it. We can’t live in two different worlds. The spiritual and the earthly are inseparable. That’s why I can’t not talk about God. I honestly try not to sometimes, and I simply can’t avoid it. My intention was never to turn people away or to gain specifically Christian readers. I would like to gain more readers who are not Christian. I’m just not sure how to do that.

So that’s where I’m at now.

Because in my world guinea pigs can fly!

One thought on “How May I Serve You?

Leave a Reply

