How To Train Your Conure

I got my bird last Friday. Her name is Grace, but she already has multiple nicknames including Fluffles and Fluff-Muffin. Yesterday we took her to the vet for a checkup, and as of right now she is ridiculously spoiled, but otherwise healthy. We found out that her diet should mostly consist of bird pellets–not seeds–and people food. She really loves pecans, so I’m using those to train her. Right now I’m just trying to teach her “no climb,” “stay,” and “step up.” Over the weekend, all she wanted to do was cuddle. She would bury herself in my hair and just sit there. apparently that’s not good because, as the vet informed us, she thinks she owns me if I allow her to do that. I’ve been trying to teach her to sit on my wrist or my knee, so I don’t allow her to climb up my arm. She’s a bit stubborn, but it’s only been a day, so I think she’ll get there.

Her doctor suggested getting her a play gym so that she can be out, but not necessarily on someone; so we stopped at PetCo on the way home from Salem and picked one up. She seemed to like it. I’m just trying to get her interested in things other than me. I am definitely her favorite person to be on, which is awesome, but since I’m the one training her, I’m also the only one she bites. It hurts, but I don’t really mind it. I’m also sort of trying to teach her not to bite, but I figure too much at once is too confusing, so it’s taking a back seat at the moment. She can bite me if she wants.

We’re not actually 100% sure she’s a girl. it’s impossible to know with conures unless you do a DNA test, so we got that done at the vet. I’m really hoping she’s a girl because I’ve already gotten used to referring to her with feminine pronouns. I’m actually trying not to call her Grace too much because if it turns out she is a boy I’m changing the name to Seamus. The vet said we would potentially know by Friday.

Last night she took a bath in her water bowl, which was super cute, and then she was cold, so she snuggled on my lap for a while, which was also super cute. She’s very soft, and doesn’t mind being pet; actually, she seems to like it. I’ve also discovered that I can’t really have her out while I’m eating because she’s more interested in what I’m eating than her own food. Last night she was in her play gym eating pellets, and then she meandered over to where I was sitting and started eating the stray rice that fell out of my burrito. It’s good for her, so I let her.

I don’t really have any good pictures yet, but she’s mostly green with a gray head and red tail. She’s got some blue under her wings, and her eyes are black with white around the rims. She’s also slightly lighter green on her stomach than on her back. She’s very tiny. She was born in December, so she’s just a baby.

Because in my world guinea pigs can fly!

3 thoughts on “How To Train Your Conure

  1. It is so nice to see you happy and already so in love. Whether a he/she, they are very lucky to have you as a momma!! Congrats girl
    ❤️❤️❤️❤️
    Love Auntie Moe Moe and Noah

Leave a Reply

