Confusion Is Not License To Judge

I want to be completely honest, and I don’t want to be offensive. If this post offends anyone in any way because of something I said or didn’t think of, I apologize in advance.

Sexuality and gender issues confuse me. I am asexual, and while I identify as a woman, I kind of think that gender is pointless as a defining factor in one’s personality. I am Christian, and I believe that God created people with male and female biology out of necessity. However, I think that thinking too much about on’es gender does more harm than good. For example, if gender was less of a defining factor, there would be less, or perhaps even no need for feminism. If gender didn’t matter then women would have the same power, the same respect, and the same income as men from the beginning of time. Men and women are good at different things for different reasons, but we are all equal on a fundamental level.

However, what I find confusing is when a person who was born male identifies as a woman, or when a person who was born female identifies as a man. I just don’t understand why or how it happens. I am just being honest. I’ve only ever known one trans person, and he was only an acquaintance, so I never got into this kind of stuff with him. It gets even more confusing when it comes to matters of sexuality. Sexuality confuses me to begin with, and I’m straight… I think (I like men without wanting to…). There are probably some asexual transgender peeps, but what about the rest of the world? What does it mean when a person with male biology who identifies as a woman likes men? What does it mean if that person likes women? What do you call that?

Again, I don’t mean to be offensive, but what you have to understand is that I like labels. Labels help me understand the world. I just like to be able to call things, well, things. Furthermore, all of this would matter less to me if I weren’t Christian. I want to understand this stuff in the context of the bigger picture; in terms of faith, and how it relates to God’s plan. To be completely honest, my immediate instinct is to say that God created people male and female–men and women for a reason, but I know that isn’t really fair. Something my friend suggested to me is that perhaps God created some people transgender, agender, etc, as some kind of test: to themselves and to the rest of society. The other thing is, it took me a long time to be able to differentiate gender from biology, which in hindsight, is really kind of stupid, so I apologize for that.

I don’t understand this stuff. Some people condemn the things they don’t understand, and that isn’t kind or fair. I believe that everyone has some kind of role to play in God’s plan, and God loves all of us. More than anything, I want misunderstood people to be accepted, whether that is people of different sexualities or genders, or disabled people, or people of different cultures.  Revelation 7:9 says: “After this I looked, and there before me was a great multitude that no one could count, from every nation, tribe, people and language, standing before the throne and before the Lamb. They were wearing white robes and were holding palm branches in their hands.” The Kingdom of Heaven is diverse because God intended it that way, and because he wants all people to be reconciled to him and to each other. God loves every single person on this planet, and if people have told you otherwise, they are wrong.

Because in my world guinea pigs can fly!

3 thoughts on “Confusion Is Not License To Judge

  1. “However, I think that thinking too much about on’es gender does more harm than good.”

    So you’re saying that trans people figuring out their gender identities is harmful.

    “For example, if gender was less of a defining factor, there would be less, or perhaps even no need for feminism.”

    So you’re saying that if patriarchy didn’t exist, there would be no need for feminism. Well, yeah.

    “However, what I find confusing is when a person who was born male identifies as a woman, or when a person who was born female identifies as a man. I just don’t understand why or how it happens.”

    Oh. So you were intentionally talking about trans people there.

    “What does it mean when a person with male biology who identifies as a woman likes men? What does it mean if that person likes women? What do you call that?”

    First off, the concept of “male biology” doesn’t mean what you think it means, but we can save that conversation for another day. A woman who was assigned male at birth and likes only men is a straight woman, because she’s a woman who likes only men. A woman who likes only women is a lesbian. Women are women. It’s as simple as that.

    “I want to understand this stuff in the context of the bigger picture; in terms of faith, and how it relates to God’s plan.”

    I agree with your friend. Trans people are in God’s plan.

    1. 1) I’m not saying it’s harmful for anyone to figure out their gender identities. I just don’t understand why gender matters, in part, because it doesn’t matter that much to me. I understand that it means more to some people; I just don’t understand why.

      2) Alright, I was stating the obvious.

      3) Yes, I was intentionally talking about trans people. Is talking about them wrong? I simply want to understand something that I don’t. I’m just being honest, so if I offended you or anyone else, I apologize.

      4) regardless of gender identity, a woman who likes men is straight and a woman who likes women is a lesbian… Okay, I’m sorry, I probably should have figured that out.

      5) I don’t understand how, but I never doubted that they were part of God’s plan.

      Thanks for your comments,

      Katie

      1. “regardless of gender identity, a woman who likes men is straight”

        …”Woman” is a gender identity, so I don’t see why you put “regardless of gender identity” there. Women are women regardless of their assigned gender.

Leave a Reply

