A Song To Sing In The Dark

I realized that I have not posted my most recent song. I wrote it late last semester and finally released it a few weeks ago.

Nothing Else

I wrote this song after news about ISIS started coming in. It is inspired both by Psalm 64, and a sermon I heard about Paul’s imprisonment with Silas. In Psalm 64, the speaker calls out to the Lord because his enemies are coming down on him and everything seems hopeless. However, the psalm ends with these lines: “The righteous rejoiced in the Lord,/ because they had fled to him for refuge./ Let all the upright in heart exult.” In Acts 16, Paul and Silas cast a demon out of a slave girl and are beaten and imprisoned for it.

Acts 16:25-26 relates: “Around midnight, Paul and Silas were praying and singing hymns to God, and the other prisoners were listening to them. Suddenly there was an earthquake so violent that the foundations of the prison were shaken. All the doors immediately flew open, and everyone’s chains were unfastened.”

This is inspiring. because of where they were in the prison, they were in total darkness, and their legs were bound. Despite this, they were singing. My priest explained that this is because the joy of the Lord is different than any other kind of joy. It is a kind of joy that keeps us going, even when the world looks bleak. I can attest to that. By global standards I have not suffered. However, I do know what it feels like to be lonely or anxious, and I’ve been in some darker mental spaces. In that, though, there’s always been something to hold on to; something to lead me out.

I worry about what’s going on in the world. This is my song to sing in the dark. I initially wrote it just for me. I often write songs with the intent of sharing them. Sometimes I write songs for specific people or about specific events, but I wanted this one to be all mine. I didn’t even have any intention of sharing it at first, but then I just felt like I couldn’t help it. This is my song to sing in the dark, but I can’t keep it just for myself. This is for everyone in their dark places. I hope it brings some hope.

Because in my world guinea pigs can fly!

Leave a Reply

