Truth Is A Paradox

I think it has become culturally unacceptable to say that one particular philosophy or belief system is true. It’s hard when you, in fact, believe in absolute truth. Even believing in absolute truth, to some people, is offensive. Some people construe disagreement as imposition (i.e they feel that you are trying to impose your beliefs on them). Then there are the people who feel they absolutely have to impose their truth on everyone at all costs.

We all have our truths, and each of us believes that our truth is absolute truth. Truth is paradoxical because it is both fluid and rigid. People who once believed something can eventually come to believe drastically different things are necessarily true. Some people go through their entire lives without feeling like anything is necessarily true. Some truths change with history. Even when we feel strongly about our truth, our perspective can change, and often does.

It’s hard to know what to do when, on the one hand, we feel that it’s important to talk about our truth, and on the other hand, we don’t want to offend anyone. It’s hard to accept that, no matter what I do, someone will be offended. Even on a less drastic level, it’s hard to express how important my truth is when people simply don’t believe the same things I do. How am I supposed to explain how important it is to you unless you already know what I’m talking about? If you don’t believe my truth, you’ll never understand why it’s important. I can’t tell you that my truth is the most important because you believe your truth (or freedom to have no truth) is the most important.

The most important thing is to be respectful and creative. There is a difference between imposing your truth and teaching your truth. There are people who are searching, and they will seek you out. It’s also important to give your perspective when it is not represented, but only if it, as well as the views of everyone else, will be respectfully considered. If you cannot or will not allow your truth to be questioned, then stay away from places where different truths are allowed to coexist and at times, do battle.

I believe in one absolute truth. I would love nothing more than for you to believe in my truth, too, but if you don’t that’s okay. I still want to be your friend. I will still talk philosophy with you. I will still talk truth with you. I will still beat you at old video games.

Because in my world guinea pigs can fly!

Leave a Reply

