That Time Of Year

Yup, it’s that time of year again… Time for the pre-camping post. There isn’t a whole lot to say, I suppose. I tend to try and write about how the summer has gone in general and what I hope to accomplish and such, but this summer has been pretty boring. I’mostly okay with that. I think I deserve a little free relaxation time.

I had hoped to get a lot done on my book this summer, and I had hoped to read more. Honestly, the reason I haven’t is simply because I’ve been hanging out. We’ve had a lot of company this summer, and I’ve had my fair share of late night D&D sessions with my friends. I don’t regret it. Come September everyone will be back in school full time, and I’ll get back to work. It’s hard to have a routine when everyone is on different schedules and you’re trying to fit in quality time with everyone before they’re either super busy or just gone until December.

Not to mention, my cousin Nicholas (Dinks) stays with us while my aunt is at work, and I would feel bad if I didn’t entertain him. He’s 13 and can fend for himself, but I don’t want him to be bored if I can help it.

In other news, I’ve been enlisted to play some music at my cousin Jackie’s wedding next summer. I’ve already been working on my set list, and I think I know what I’m going to play. My godmother (Jackie’s mom) wants me to write an original song for her and Jeff (her fiancé). I’m not going to lie, it’s a bit of a daunting task. I’m definitely going to work on it while we’re at camp. I have a feeling this is going to be a hard song to write because I don’t have much personal experience to go off of. My dad suggested starting with a poem or a sonnet and taking the idea, then riffing off of that. It might not be a bad place to start.

I have to find something to wear to this, too, which I know is going to be tedious. I hate shopping. The thing is, my mom will be coming because A) I will need a ride, and B) my dad will do it “wrong.” My mom and I have very different approaches to shopping. I’ll leave it at that.

It seems like every year the number of campers in our group dwindles a little. It used to be a big ridiculous production. We don’t have very many people going at all this year, which kind of stinks. I’ll bring my Bible and the other book I’m reading (Paralandra by C.S. Lewis). I’ll bring my DS, at least for the ride up, but I kind of feel like it’s cheating to play video games at camp.

I’ll also be bringing my guitar. I’ve been hosting a talent show for the past several years and will be doing it again this year. I usually goof around and play a couple songs before the show starts, and then give the stage over to whoever wants to do something. We actually had a few pretty good people last year. It seems to get better as we keep doing it. My cousin Amber usually co-hosts. Last year was the first time we actually used a sign up sheet so we could introduce the people ourselves, and that worked better than expected.

We’ll also be bringing Seamus to camp with us. The thing about conures is that they get very attached to their humans, and if they’re alone for a long time they get lonely and depressed. We were going to bring him to our godparents’ house, because they live close to the campground, but we decided it would be easiest just to bring him with us. Pets aren’t allowed at the campground, but he’s tiny and pretty inconspicuous, and if we get caught we can still bring him to our godparents’. I’m glad he’s coming for 2 reasons: 1) I like breaking little rules when it won’t hurt anyone, and 2) I won’t have to miss him. It’s absurd how much I love my Boo.

I guess that’s it for now.

Because in my world guinea pigs can fly!

Leave a Reply

