The Things Conservatives Get Wrong

I’ve been thinking about politics lately. I’m starting to do some research into the presidential candidates, and I’m also thinking about starting to get into politics myself. I think our system is broken, and I think I could help fix it–at least I think I would like to try.

I’m generally conservative. I think a lot of more “progressive” ideas haven’t worked for our country. At the same time, it seems to me that a lot of the republican candidates are a little too conservative. It’s frustrating to me that politicians must choose a side and adhere to the agenda of that side while, it seems, jeopardizing their individuality. There are a few issues that I disagree with many of the republican candidates on. The big three are education, abortion and gay marriage.

Firstly, many of the conservative candidates advocate more private/local control of schools. While I have some issues with the way schools are run, I tend to think that this is generally a bad idea. I know for a fact that some schools do not teach evolution, and some instill ludicrous ideas that are scientifically false. I heard about one school (I forget where) that taught that dinosaur fossils were put on earth by God to test our faith. First of all, I don’t think God would intentionally mislead us. Secondly, science and faith are not opposed. Science is a means by which we can better understand where we came from, and by extension, better understand God. I personally think that it should be made sure of that certain things are being taught in schools. The purpose of education is to equip kids for the real world, where science presents undeniable facts whether we like it or not. I’m not good at science, but I still think that, especially in this day, it needs to be taught properly.

Secondly, I think many of the republican candidates take too conservative a stand on abortion. Don’t get me wrong, I am opposed to it, but when it is medically necessary to save a woman’s life, exception should be made. Many of the candidates either avoid this issue, or are opposed to it, even in this case. On the other hand, there are candidates like Carly Fiorina who would outlaw abortion but make exception for rape victims. This is a tricky issue because the law is often dictated by those who have no personal experience. I personally believe that every life is sacred, including those that start violently. Even a child whose human father was a psychotic asshole that he will never know, is still a precious child of God. As I said, I might feel differently if I had more personal experience with the issue, which I thankfully don’t.

Lastly, many of the conservative candidates would allow civil unions but ban gay marriage. While on the surface this seems like a reasonable solution, I doesn’t solve some of the deeper, more important issues. This issue is largely a religious one. What ever happened to separation of Church and State? I feel that certain religious principals should govern the land: the common sense laws that are necessary for a successful society–don’t murder, don’t steal, etc. However, gay marriage is more complicated. It’s not necessarily a moral issue, and therefore, I don’t think it should be dictated by the government. It is more specifically a religious issue. Therefore, I think, it should be kept legal. I also believe that the right of religious organizations not to marry gay couples should be protected. Religious freedom, along with our other freedoms, should be protected. Many believe that marriage is a sacred covenant. What about the gay couple who wants to seal their bond of love in this way? regardless of the actual spiritual implications, which I won’t get into, shouldn’t they be allowed to do so if they can find a church to do it?

One other issue that I’m on the fence about is gun control. I tend to agree with many of the candidates that automatic weapons should be banned, but I’m not as convicted about it, and I understand the arguments on both sides. The thing is, my godfather owns an assault rifle, and we blew up a pineapple with it. In the wrong hands these things are dangerous, but in the right hands it’s just good clean fun. I tend to be against prohibiting things just because a few idiots misuse them.

In any event, I’m currently thinking of voting for Ben Carson. I agree with him on a lot of things, especially foreign policy, and I think we need new blood in the political system. I’m going to look into volunteering for him if I can.

Because in my world guinea pigs can fly!

6 thoughts on “The Things Conservatives Get Wrong

  1. I can’t imagine anyone wanting to get involved in politics today. It’s very noble to say you would like to help fix things, but it seems that even the noble voices are soon quieted by the corruption in Washington. It has become a big chess game, where the citizens have become the pawns. Good luck though! Maybe if enough with your zeal could turn things around.

  2. Best of luck. I think it’s great that you plan on getting involved with your political system. Can’t say I agree with you on some of the issues, but your stances seem more even handed than the current crop of nutters running for the C party. LOL

Leave a Reply

