Bitter Sweet

At this time last year I was bitter. Excitement over Christmas begins in September, and it often feels like the secular universe has stolen a Christian holiday. Last year I couldn’t celebrate. It just felt fake and empty. To some extent it is, but only if we let it be. As usual, a lot of my nonChristian friends and family started going Christmas crazy in September. My initial reaction was irritation, and I’ve just had to begrudgingly ignore it for the past several months.

Then something came to me. Being bitter about the secularization of Christmas would be admitting defeat. I love Christmas. I love what it truly represents. I love going crazy with decorations. I love the way Christmas trees smell. I love hanging out with my family. It was like Reason said to me: “Kiddo, don’t be bitter. Be happy. Celebrate if you want to. You know what it’s for, so don’t resent it. You’re meant to celebrate. Go nuts.” So that’s what I’m going to do. I’m going to be just as annoyingly happy as everyone else, and I’m going to remind the world why we do this.

Because in my world guinea pigs can fly.

Leave a Reply

