Politics

I didn’t vote. Many of you will be incredulously wondering “Why?” For me it was a matter of conscience. I did not feel that either candidate deserved my support. Of course no one is perfect. Everyone has some “dirt” on them. However, it seems to me that Mrs. Clinton is far too untrustworthy, and Mr. Trump has said far too many offensive, and quite frankly, disturbing things about far too many people, and I for one, believe that language matters.

What has been more disturbing to me, however, is how this election has affected relationships. Long-lasting friendships have fallen apart because of a presidential race. The fallout has even reached my fourth graders. Truthfully, I don’t know much about Hillary Clinton outside of what I’ve seen on TV, but I thought she gave a really great speech today and accepted her defeat honorably. I can honestly say I’m proud of her for that.

What I would love to see is the rest of society doing the same. I don’t like Trump, but the fact of the matter is, he’s my president. That isn’t going to change now for at least four years, so whether you’ve been a life-long Democrat, young progressive, Independent like myself, Republican, or anything else, it’s time to face facts. It’s time to band together. Our president is not our country. We are our country, and we make America what it is. Quite frankly, I don’t like the party system. It makes politics exactly that: politics. It takes the focus away from real people and real issues and narrows in on the superfluous competition. It becomes a question of who will win and who will lose, rather than, what can be done to make our country better.

What will make our country better? The short answer is: love. The longer answer is uncertain. It’s really up to us. Among other things, we certainly need to be kinder on the internet. We need to pay attention and learn what it means to be good Samaritans; we need to really see people. We need to recognize the significance and effects of language. We need to forgive. We need to be ready to speak and fight for what we believe in, and be kind while doing it. We need to learn how to take a hit. We need to learn how to graciously and quietly accept defeat. We need to laugh. We need to accept that jokes are meant to be taken as jokes. We need to celebrate. We need to read. We need to have fun. We need to stand behind our president and support our government when they make good decisions and be ready to fight when they don’t. We need to recognize, love, and use our freedom.

Because in my world guinea pigs can fly!

5 thoughts on “Politics

  1. Oh, I see… now we’re supposed to accept and respect facts.

    I gotta tell you, people are walking around just like after 9/11: absolute shock that so many Americans really could really be this stupid, this ignorant, this gullible, to care so very little for reality and the future generations as to either not vote at all OR vote to elect the Great Big Scary Clown called The Donald. He can’t be trusted with his cell phone but supposedly can with nuclear launch codes. Unbelievable, . catastrophic stupidity.

  2. we don’t discuss politics here, in this family. Once it’s been decided that I think he’s a wild eyed yahoo for even considering one particular candidate, and he thinks I am two bricks shy of disaster because I intend to vote my own way, we then stop discussing it.

    It’s worked so far.

    No animosity, no harsh words. The healing is on the inside.

    I felt sorry for Mrs. Clinton, winning and then losing all in the same breath. Hard, hard, to take.

Leave a Reply

