Life Stuff

I haven’t posted in just about a month. I really haven’t been up to very much, but at the same time, it kind of feels like I’ve been making subtle changes. I recently joined a Catholic writer’s group. We might go to a conference in April. I was in a writer’s group last year, but I was the only member under the age of forty, and we ended up talking about other peoples’ work more than our own. It just wasn’t a good fit. The members of this new group are all my age, and it’s much more focused on sharing original work. I think it’ll be a good motivator. I’ve felt kind of less motivated to work on my mythology lately, but I have still realistically been getting a decent amount finished.

My dad and I have also decided we’re going to start making mosaics. When I made my first one for my friend’s Christmas present I thought it would be tedious, but it was really just relaxing. I’m going to make a bigger one to put in our basement, unless my mom vetoes it. Otherwise I’ll just put it in my room. It’s hard to explain in words, but it’s going to be Big Bang image from a loving and intentional creation standpoint. When it’s finished I’ll post a picture.

Next month my family is meeting my godparents’ family and a family friend/honorary aunt for a few days in Florida. I think most of the trip is going to be spent hanging out by a pool, which I’m really okay with. It’s been cold here. I’m sick of cold. As far as I know we’ll also go to Universal for a couple of days and we’re doing an escape room at some point. I’ve never done an escape room before. Since we have eight people with us, we’re going to do two different rooms. I wanted my brother on my team, but my mom claimed him. I guess she can do that. I’m going to have my godparents and my dad on my team, though, and they’re very smart. I’m just nervous because I’m not always great at puzzles.

Eons ago I wrote about how I felt God was calling me to formally dedicate myself to him in the Catholic Church. I avoided it for a long time because the idea was freaking me out, but I’ve started really feeling this weird pull that I can’t exactly describe, but I know it has to do with that, and I’m not afraid anymore. I know I said before that I wasn’t afraid, but this time I won’t chicken out. I’m forcing myself not to chicken out. Otherwise this feeling will drive me crazy. Plus, if it’s from God, it can only be good, anyway.

Anyway, this post is admittedly a means of procrastination, at least partly. At the same time, this, along with my more personal journal, is a means of emptying my brain so I can be more focused on my fantasy work. I’m twenty three and I still feel like I have to make excuses for not doing my homework or something. High school scarred me for life.

Because in my world guinea pigs can fly!

2 thoughts on “Life Stuff

  1. High school scars (and sometimes scares) everyone, for the rest of their lives, it seems. The trick, I guess, is to just get over it, past it. or consider it (you should excuse the expression) a learning experience, if not the one they intended.

    During our graduation recieving line one older woman went through, I have no idea who the heck she was, and to every graduate, she said, “enjoy these years, you’ll never be this happy again…”

    I thought, thanks a lot, lady. you’re telling a bunch of 17 and 18 year olds that its all downhill from here. we really needed to know that. And frankly if this was as good as it gets, oh shoot me now. =)

    I’ve never heard of an escape room, except the online ones. It sounds like great fun, frankly. How do they work?

    1. Haha high school wasn’t really all that bad for me. I’m just being overly dramatic. Anyway, an escape room is when you get a group of friends or family, or sometimes they’ll put random people together, and you go in a room with a scenario and a time limit. The one we’re doing is a made-up part of the Cuban Missile Crisis. My group has to find some information in Fidel Castro’s palace and figure out how to escape in an hour before we get caught.

Leave a Reply

